EXAMINATION INFORMATION

An Applicant CANNOT obtain a regular West Virginia license or a reciprocal license without meeting the above requirements.

A regular license and a reciprocal license provide equal privilege in West Virginia. There is no real difference between the two types of licenses. The only true difference is that a reciprocal license identifies the licensee as having meet licensing requirements in another state before becoming licensed in West Virginia.

An applicant who does not meet the above requirements will not qualify for licensure in West Virginia.

REGISTRATION

To register for the examination, submit an application for the West Virginia Laws, Rules and Regulations examination to the Board office with a check or money order for the amount of \$ 315.00. The application form is located on our web page below.

Once the application form is received, your eligilibity verification will be submitted to the Conference, and you will be notified by the Conference as to dates for taking the examination. The following will take place:

IN-STATE APPLICANTS:

Your apprenticeship documents will be reviewed thoroughly. If all reports have been submitted, documentation of successful completion of your apprenticeship is on file, and an application has been submitted to the office with payment, the Conference will be notified of your eliglibity to sit for the WV LRR examination.

OUT-OF-STATE APPLICANTS:

Once your documents have been received, the Board's staffs will review your reciprocal application. The staff will determine if you meet all the legal requirements for licensure. If you do, you will then be sent a registration form for the examination. You will not be permitted to take the examination until such time as all documents are submitted.

Once you have been approved to take the examination, the Conference will be notified of your eligibility to sit for the WV LRR examination. The Conference will notify you with dates to sit for the examination.

THE EXAMINATION

The test consists of 100 multiple-choice questions, both simple and complex. The examination is given by the Conference. A passing score of 75% is required on both the Arts section and the

Science for the national examination.

The West Virginia Laws, Rules and Regulations (WV LRR) examination is also given by the Conference and a passing score of 75% is also required. Payment for the National examination is made directly to the Conference. Payment of \$ 315.00 is paid the West Virginia Board of Funeral Service Examiners for the WV LRR examination.

STUDY PACKETS

A study packet is available for a fee of \$ 95. Purchase of the packet is strictly voluntary, however, it is strongly advised that the applicant purchase these materials. If the applicant chooses not to purchase the study packet, a list of laws covered on the exam can be found on our web page under the ENFORCEMENT tab.

For apprentices, the study materials were initially provided in the Handbook and no additional purchase is necessary. Any updated materials will automatically be supplied at no cost. However, if the apprentice misplaces the Handbook and thus needs a complete study packet, the apprentice must pay \$ 95 for a new one.